Kony 2012

Over the last couple of weeks, social media has been blowing up over Joseph Kony.  On March 5, Jason Russell released a video titled “KONY 2012,” which he hoped would bring attention to the Invisible Children and lead to the arrest of Joseph Kony, leader of the Lord’s Resistance Army.  Russell got what he asked for.  His video has received over 83 million hits on YouTube and more on Vimeo.

I remember the release of this video because my Facebook was nearly all status updates about stopping Kony and many reposts of Russel’s video.  At the moment, I intended to watch the video, but was on spring break and only had limited access via my iPhone.  Honestly, I had forgotten to watch it when I returned from break, but am glad that we talked about it in my social media class as a reminder to myself to watch it later.

I just finished watching the video and all I can say is “wow.”  The video is so well-done and Russell tells the story in a way that is easy to follow, yet brings to light an alarming need to stop Joseph Kony.  I had previous knowledge of the LRA and Kony, but not enough to really understand what was going on.  I think Russell is right.  If we bring attention to this issue, he can be stopped.  I was really impacted by Russell’s quote, “Where you live shouldn’t determine if you live.”  No one has a choice in where they are born and I was blessed to be born into a loving family in a stable community in America.  The children in Africa shouldn’t have to fear for their lives just because they were born there.

Already, I have seen KONY 2012 posters on campus here at Creighton.  My hope for this campaign is that Kony is captured by the end of the year.  The only question I have is will that really stop the madness?  Will someone else step in and take Kony’s place if he is arrested?  That’s something we will just have to wait for.

 

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

