What Happens if Social Media Stops Working

That’s the title of the article I just read on Daily Finance.  I read the article and there were a lot of interesting statistics that just came out indicating that users are becoming more private with their information online.

In a report done by the Pew Research Center, 63% of the 2,277 adults polled reported “defriending” someone on their Facebook profile and 37% reported untagging themselves from photos.  I personally feel that this is due to the fact that it seems everyone is growing more worried about professionalism.  Today, it’s not unusual for an employer to ask for your Twitter handle on an application or ask you to pull up your Facebook profile in an interview.  I know that I definitely did this just a few weeks ago.  I had an interview set up at a start-up company in Omaha and found myself deleting tweets and removing photos I was tagged in just in case they asked to see my profiles.  Professionalism is a growing concern for everyone and I’ve definitely noticed that more and more just within the last year or so.

So, what if social media users start clamming up too much and these sites become obsolete?  I don’t think this will happen anytime soon, but I do think it’s on it’s way there, especially with Facebook.  Facebook has the most information about you and people are less willing to make their private lives that public.  However, if social media does become less effective, what does that mean for businesses using social media for marketing?  I guess we will have to wait and see.  It’ s very interesting consideration social media is the “hip” way for marketing and advertising right now.  Will that continue?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

