Social Media a Distraction? Never.

I’m guessing you sensed my hint of sarcasm in the title of this post.

As I’m sitting in my apartment on this beautiful day trying to get work done for midterms week, I find myself getting completely distracted by everything social media.  Let’s see, already I’ve checked my Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Google+ account and this blog.  Even though I’ve already checked my Facebook and Twitter multiple times, I can’t help but think, “wait, what if something else has happened since the last time I checked five minutes ago!”  Is this a sign of an addiction?  Or just that I don’t want to get real work done?  Hopefully the latter.

I feel like I may be a bit too attached to my social media profiles.  That’s not a problem, right?  It is when I have actual homework I need to be getting done. And yet here I am again, on my blog, posting about how distracting this all is when I should be doing homework.  Oh, the irony.  I guess it doesn’t help that I’m taking a class on social media.  I think because of this, I’m tricking myself into thinking that by constantly checking Facebook and Twitter, that I’m doing something productive.  “But this is for class, I swear!” is what I keep telling myself.

Anyways,  I just thought I would share that so that I can get it out of my system and hopefully get the rest of my homework done now.

 

Leave a Reply

