Professional vs. Personal

When Google+ first came out, I remember thinking that it would definitely be the end of Facebook as we know it.  Google+ was introduced and everyone loved the idea of having to be invited to join – the exclusivity factor.  It was supposed to be a more sophisticated version of Facebook, but with new features like “hangouts.”  Google+ was projected to be the newest social media trend; however, that hasn’t happened and I, myself, am still a Facebook supporter.

I guess the reason that I don’t like Google+ is because:

A: no one is really using it.

B: no one really knows how to use it.

Because of these two factors, I have no reason to use Google+.  All of my friends are already on Facebook and know how to use it.  Easy as that.  No one wants to learn how to use a new social media outlet that no one even uses and cares to use when they already have one that works just fine.

Even though I am a Facebook supporter, I can see many benefits to Google+ if it were to finally take off.  It’s  a little less personal so the people in your circles don’t know every detail about your life like they would if they looked on your Facebook profile.  Hangouts on Google+ can also prove to be beneficial if you need to conduct a work meeting with coworkers across the country or even chat with your cat-impersonating classmates like we did in our social media class last week.  Overall, Google+ seems to be a bit more professional than Facebook.

Even though I don’t have anything I’m ashamed of on my Facebook, I know I probably wouldn’t want my employers looking at my personal life that closely.  If I somehow get myself to start using Google+ regularly, I know I would make that my professional profile.

For those of you who still can’t seem to figure out Google+, I found an article that may be able to help you out.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

